James


Wow, a whole page, all about me? I guess that means I’m moving up in the world! I was born in Vancouver, but we moved to Oregon when I was about six months old. The majority of my growing up was done in a tiny oceanfront town of about 8,000 people. Not being old enough to visit the bars, my two choices for entertainment were surfing and biking. After a particularly exciting encounter with a rip current, I decided to stick with land sports. This, coupled with our yearly mountain biking vacations to Bend (where I got to marvel at all those big-city things like 4-lane roads, and multi-story buildings), led to a particular fondness for bikes that has yet to be matched.

I started riding seriously in high school, when my dad upgraded his bike and gave me the old Klein Attitude. Riding a rigid aluminum frame, more than two decades old, taught me quite a bit about both technique and maintenance – even though the majority of my post-ride cleanings involved quite a bit of blood (partly from learning how to properly ride, partly from learning the hard way how bikes come apart and go back together), I honestly can’t think of anything I would rather be doing. I have since upgraded to a 2012 Specialized Camber Expert, but the old Klein is still without a doubt my favourite machine.
Currently, I am a third year student at the University of Victoria, studying the literature, cultures, and philosophies of English, Germanic/Slavic, and Medieval peoples. I began as a student of Earth Sciences, but after a brief run-in with Advanced Calculus I decided a degree in hard sciences was probably a bad decision. At this point, my dog and I are living with three other housemates, trying to figure out how to pay for all the boring stuff like water, dinner, and electricity.

I would classify bikes in general as a hobby of mine, but mountain biking is definitely a passion – the only thing I can think of that I like more than my ’94 Attitude is my dog (though a good craft brew comes close). I haven't quite decided which direction I would like to take with my life - definitely something writing-related, and hopefully bike-related as well. I've spent enough time working behind a telephone desk to know that I'm not quite the 9-5 office-work type. I expect that decision will become a bit easier once I've finished my degree, but who knows! My path through life thus far has pretty well echoed the way I ride: pick the most exciting looking trail, and see where it takes you.

If you want some one-on-one time with me, shoot an email to “james@themountainbikelife.com”!                                                                                   

No comments:

Post a Comment